Hiranprashanth’s Blog

Sky Is So High [Chapter 1]

Posted in Sky Is So High by hiranprashanth on May 2, 2009

“Speak up. Talk something. You are wasting my time and your time. Speak up”, told Inspector Rajeshwari.

I was lying there half naked and half concious. I have never been to a Police Station before and never wanted to. I dreaded the word Police and now here I am lying half naked infront of half a bunch of hefty Poilce women in Teynampet All Women Police Station.

I could not find my saree and my blouse was torn revealing my bra. My legs have become numb and I could no longer feel the Lathi landing on my legs.

I was secretly hoping for some miracle that would take my suffering soul out of this world. I could no more hear the voices of those Police women. I had a feeling that I would die any moment. I could no longer take it and wanted to scream my heart out.

“She is not going to tell the truth madam”, said the short constable to Inspector Rajeshwari. “Get the ice in to her ass. Everthing will come out along with the truth”

“This can’t get any worse”, I thought. I have heard many stories of Police torchers but never have I once thought that I would be the one in the receving end.

“Please kill me. I can take it no more. I know nothing of it. Kill me”, I cried to Inspector Rajeshwari.

Ispector Rajeshwari was a fat woman. She looked exactly the same as the rakshashis in old Vitalacharia’s movies. She was not wearing her uniform and was in a dark blue saree. Her dark expressionless face , her dark blue saree which was in total contrast to her skin color along with the dim yellow bulb made the scene more horrifying.

Inspector Rajeshwari joimed the Police force as a constable and in a short span of time grew to the rank of an officer. She was incharge for the Teynampet All Women Police Station. One of my cell inmate told me that she even killed an accused few months back and that the case was closed as a suicide.

“Talk”, she told me in a husky voice. For a woman of her size, she had a peculiarly soft voice. She looked straight in to my eyes and her look was piercing.

“Don’t worry, we will not harm you. You speak the truth and I will leave you. Your children must be waiting for you”, she said.

The words suddenly struck me as a lighting. I have not seen my children for two days. Being a house wife or what they call these days, a home maker, I have not left them even once.

My son Raghu and my daughter Raghavi were my world. I loved them more than anything else in this world.  Their face came to my mind.  Their lovely smile, innocent mischiefs made me to cry even harder.

“Okay. I leave you now. But tell me the truth, the first thing in the morning. You understand?”, told Inspector Rajeshwari.

“Give her some food”, she ordered the short constable and left the room.

“Ok madam”, replied the short constable.

I didnt even have the strength to hold the plate given to me by the short constable. I layed there crying thinking of my family and my life. I layed there thinking about my beautiful, care free childhood days. I fell asleep as I was thinking about my childhood days. A well deserved sleep to end the eventual day. I hoped I sleep forever and not to see another day….

To Be Cont…..

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sudar said, on May 2, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Yes! A good beginning…
    Expressive words and lines…
    Go ahead..
    All the best dear…

  2. preethe said, on May 2, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Hey bro!!
    A good start man!!
    Liked it ..
    Check out a few present and past tense issues ..
    Otherwise .. you did hold up the tempo..
    Good job bro..
    waiting for the second post!!

  3. Muthu said, on May 4, 2009 at 8:04 am

    hi dude…

    Good start,hope u continue it well…

    All the VeRy BeSt 🙂 🙂

  4. Karthik said, on May 4, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Hey Hiran,

    Thats a nice start..

    All the best..

  5. sudar said, on May 4, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Oye.. nice going.. cont… 🙂

  6. hiranprashanth said, on May 5, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Thank u so much for your comments…
    Ellorukum mikka nanri…

  7. aishwarya said, on May 8, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Oyie hiran..
    Good start da…
    Keep goin…
    I liked ur title very much da…
    All de best…
    Waitin 4 de next chap..

  8. lalit said, on May 11, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    superb da peter.. carry on.. all de best.. take care..

  9. Sathish said, on May 25, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Such an artistic beginning man……..
    let me read the forthcoming chapters……[:)]

  10. sri said, on June 3, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Good narration, would read the rest 🙂

  11. gils said, on June 9, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    ithenna suya sarithama? nallaruku 🙂

    • hiranprashanth said, on June 9, 2009 at 2:58 pm

      @ Gils…

      Stationla adii vangarathu suya sarithrama!!!!!
      ennn indha aasa….
      anyways thanks…..

  12. Geetha said, on June 18, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    ada ada arpudam 🙂
    super start…
    ella chapter um idhu madiri interestin eh kondhu po….


Leave a Reply

