Hiranprashanth’s Blog

Sky Is So High[Chapter 3]

Posted in Sky Is So High by hiranprashanth on May 5, 2009

Two weeks had already passed since I moved to my new home. The initial excitement of being in a new home with garden, mango tree, coconut trees  had all worn out. Nothing great was happening around. I hadn’t met a single person of my age and often wondered whether there was any people living around, though my mother reminded me time and again that our neighbors were off for summer vacation and assured that I would have lot of friends.

Alwarpet to me was a very ambiguous region. On one side of it was T.Nagar (Thyagaraya Nagar), the shopping hub of Madras, where one can find the whole population of the city during festive season. On other side of it was Gemini, the place named after the famous Gemini Studios. It still confuses me as to why invariably all the movie directors zoom on to Gemini fly over to show that their hero/heroine has landed in Madras. So Alwarpet was technically at the center of all activities but never hogged the spot light.

Alwarpet was basically a rich man’s land. One can carve up Alwarpet into three sections. First, “Higher Alwarpet”, the Boat Club Road, where people with Mercs, BMWs, Ferraris live. Second, “Middle Alwarpet”, where people with Ikons, Honda Citys live. Third, “Lower Alwarpet”, not the place for people with Ambassadors or scooters rather a place for people with cycles or no cycles at all. “Higher Alwarpet” was for Big Shot politicians whereas the “Lower Alwarpet” was for the people who vote for them.

So we lived in “Middle Alwarpet” with no Ikons or Citys but with a false pride of living among the rich.  One good thing about the place was the big Municpal park which was just behind my home. Getting up very late in the morning, helping my grand father with his gardening, sleeping, watching the boys play cricket in the park, a walk around the park with my grand mother and sleep again was all I did in a day. we didn’t even have T.V. I mean, we had one but without a cable connection. A T.V with only DoorDarshan in it is as good as NO-T.V.

My vacation was fast approaching its end and it was time for some schooling again. I never had my share of luck with school nor with my studies. Imagine getting a rank of 31 out of a total strength 30, yes it was me. Math was not my cup of tea, neither was English, neither was Tamil nor were my studies. My mother tried all methods known to man kind to make me study but all in vain. I couldn’t even write my name then, though the mistake was only partly mine. How can one expect a seven year old to write such a long name,  Remya Ragunathan with Ramya spelt differently.

I still don’t understand why my parents named me Remya. They call me R-A-M-Y-A and named me R-E-M-Y-A. May be its the numerology which played the trick. Even if I write my name correctly as R-E-M-Y-A, I invariably got slashings from my teachers who believed that my name was   R-A-M-Y-A and that I had written my name wrong yet again! But for the first time in my life, I was waiting to go back to school to escape the dull summer vacation.

To Be Cont…

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sudarvizhi said, on May 5, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Chapter 3 s short.. Why so?? very busy wit ur job eh??

  2. preethe said, on May 6, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Hey
    That was a very good description Alwarpet..
    will doogie and bruno be a part of this story??

  3. hiranprashanth said, on May 6, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    @ Sudar…
    Busylam illa….
    saraku thindhu poyudhuchu…..

    @ Akka…
    Thanks ka…
    story out pannadhe….

  4. ramesh said, on May 7, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    hi man ,is this your new avatar ha,! as a writer?….
    a good start , but instead of numbering the chapter give some name to the chapter man.

    • hiranprashanth said, on May 7, 2009 at 4:34 pm

      @ Ramesh…
      Thanks da…
      Felt lazy bot naming each chapters….
      so da easiest way was to number them,…
      ya ur correct da….
      I ll do tat….

  5. Amma said, on May 13, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    pechu, Is it really u ? I really really feel that the sky is not so high even my son who got just pass marks in English at II std can write such nice blogs in English. Very interesting. Keep it up. looking forward many .

    • hiranprashanth said, on May 13, 2009 at 6:24 pm

      @ amma…
      ha ha ha ha-:)
      En amma publicla damage panra….
      thank u so ma….
      ellam ne kudutha odhedan…
      Thanks again….

  6. Geetha said, on June 18, 2009 at 7:03 am

    “just pass marks in English at II std can write such nice blogs in English…”
    super comment….Aunty engalukku theriyadha neraiya unmaiyellam solranga 😉


Leave a Reply

