Hiranprashanth’s Blog

Sky Is So High[Chapter 4]

Posted in Sky Is So High by hiranprashanth on May 14, 2009

I still remember the day I met Renuka, who later turned out to be my best friend. I would even trust my life with Renuka. It was 9 in the morning and I was still rolling in the bed then. Father usually leaves home early for work. I never will understand my father’s obsession with punctuality and as for me , I was never punctual. My mother , after all her kitchen stunts, too had left for work. So the day was left for me and for my grand parents to kill.

While I was busy wondering how draggy the previous was and how deadening the present day was going to be, I heard a girl’s voice coming from the living room. The voice was angelic. Though I was too lazy to get off the bed, my curiosity got the better of me. I was keen in meeting the person to whom the angelic voice belonged. I jumped off the bed and hurried to the living room.

My instincts didn’t let me down. True to my perception, I saw an angel in a white frock. She had a long hair which was as straight as Trichy-Chennai National Highway and there was never a coil in that hair. She had eyes which was as if God Himself had taken a day’s off from His work and drew them with His own hands. She had a broad fore head and had a, I wouldn’t call it fair, I would rather call it a rosy complexion. She had a very thin lips which would make a pink rose feel colorless.

So, there I was, standing with my wrinkled night dress and messy hair, in front of a girl who looked no less than an angel. My initial admiration of her beauty all vanished at the stoke of a finger when jealously took over me. I just wanted to run out of that room and save myself from the “”Self Inflicted” embarrassment. When I was about to do that, my grand mother started her usual granny talk.

“Hey Ramya, look who is here. She is Renuka. She lives next door. No.28 right Renuka?”, she said.

she nodded obediently

What? Renuka? I never expected her name to be Renuka. Though everything I guessed about her was correct, I went wrong in her name part. I thought her name would be some Priya or Payal or Deepika but never Renuka, a typical Tamil name for a girl who looked like a north Indian.

“Hi”, said Renuka for which I never answered.

“She is also in the same school Ramya. Which standard are you in Renuka?”, enquired my grand mother.

“Second standard Patti”, she replied.

“Oh”, was my reply.

“Very good. Our Ramya  is also in second standard. What rank you get Renuka?”

“Oh no…the ranks….”, I thought. My grand mother had dropped the rank bomb yet again.

“Always first”, she said with a pride which would make a lion feel humble.

“Very Very good. Will you please help our Ramya with her studies because she is not very good at it”, said my grand mother.

My  grand mother’s “very” was increasing which was a bad sign and if Renuka had told one more good thing about herself, my grand mother would have hurled me out and would have been me more than happy to adopt Renuka as her grand child.

Renuka on hearingmy grand mother’s comments, gave me a look which made to shrink in shame. My ego had hit rock bottom and I thought I had lost everything to a girl whom I had just met, even before the battle had begun.

“Sure Patti, I will help her. Ok Patti I have to go home, I will leave then.”, told Renuka to my grand mother.

“Me and friends will play today, you want to come?”, she asked.

I wanted to scream a big no but I didn’t know what came out of me and I said, “YES”.

To Be Cont…

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sudar said, on May 14, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    hmmm… As i always say you have a great talent of narrating things…
    Nicely going..
    I never tot you’ll shape up all your mokkai stories into an interesting novel…;)(kidding) But , one week ku oru chapter lam rommmmba over…
    suspense thaanga mudiyala… weekly 3 or 4 chapter podalaame sir????

    • hiranprashanth said, on May 14, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      @ Sudar…
      indha mokka storyum nalla irruku sollura paru…ne romba nallava-;)
      as i hav already told…sarakku thendhu pochu….adhuku dan…
      annalum i ll try posting atleast 2 chapters/week….
      k…

  2. Amma said, on May 14, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Pech! Moonavathu chapter leye dappa kaliya?

  3. Preethe said, on May 15, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    dei!!
    Remya Renganathan … I know who influenced you to use this name .. Mr. Ranganathan’s daughter.. Kudhamani rt ..
    Appram .. indha Renuka yaaruda .. andha colonyla Isaac and newton thavira unakku friends yaarume illaye ..
    Answer must .. illa kadha out ..
    😉

    • hiranprashanth said, on May 15, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      @ Preethe
      ekkkkaaaaaaaaaaaaaa………………
      en ka unnaku indha kola veri…
      Apparam en character peru Remya Ragunathan….Ranganathan illa….
      en kadhale kadhaye illa….apparam eppadi kadha out pannuve….
      comedy pannadhe ka…..

      P.S – “ONE MINUTE YAAR” mattum na ezhudala en peru prashanth illa…..

  4. aishwarya said, on May 16, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    Hey hiran unn story yooda comments dan paddika super ra eruku da… he he… Jus kiddin.. Interstin da…
    Waitin 4 ur next chap….

  5. Sathish said, on May 25, 2009 at 1:08 am

    hmmm mavanae i have high standards for you so u better dont dissapointwith ur coming chapters….

    anyways cool narrational skills man bot girls flunking miserably is a joke man[;)]

  6. Geetha said, on June 18, 2009 at 7:13 am

    hey hiran…super po…
    onnum illadha matter ku ivlo build up unnala mattum dhan kodhuka mudiyam 🙂
    sure eh nee future la direct panra padham 250 days odhum 🙂

    • hiranprashanth said, on June 18, 2009 at 9:19 am

      @ Sathish
      Romba nanri sathish….kandippaga ungal expectationai kapatra try pannuven….

      @Geetha
      Onnum illadha mattera????
      irrundhalum dhanks……en padam velzhii vizha functionku ne dan chief guest……

  7. Geetha said, on July 5, 2009 at 11:12 am

    “pink rose feel colorless”…enna oru line…superrrrrrrr…


Leave a Reply

