Hiranprashanth’s Blog

Sky Is So High[Chapter 5]

Posted in Sky Is So High by hiranprashanth on May 27, 2009

So, it was finally time for some schooling. After a surprisingly agonising wait for two months and humiliation in the hands of Renuka’s friends, it was school finally. I accepted Renuka’s invitation to play with her and with her “So called” friends. If given a choice, I would rather be happy spending my whole of my life with my grandparents and Doordharshan and do nothing than to play with Renuka’s friends.

After my initial reluctance, I was all excited to play with Renuka. True to her words, Renuka came to my home at 4 P.M sharp and took me to her home. Renuka’s home was a carbon copy of our home except for the garden which looked a morsel small compared to ours. Our garden had a mixed variety of plants whereas Renuka’s had  flowers, flowers and only flowers which made the place heavenly.

Kajal, Sandya and Tinu, Renuka’s three best friends, had already started their game and were not very eager to meet me. Half of my excitement ran out at the very first sight of them. Kajal and Sandya were wearing a jean and sleeveless tops. Tinu was in her skirt and a bright red T-shirt. Renuka was still wearing the white frock which made her look like an angel. As for me, I was wearing the most wrinkled frock I had and it looked like a stone-washed blue frock. I stood there cursing my mother for not getting me a jean and my grandmother who didn’t allow me to wear the best frock I had for that dreadful day.

I could sense their disappointment with my looks and came reluctantly toward me. As they moved closer to me, I heard them talk  in English, which made me to lose the rest of my excitement for I had never spoke English. “Its going to be a memorable evening”, I thought and my fears came true when Kajal started to talk to me in English.

“Hi. I am Kajal”, she introduced herself.

I managed a slight smile. Kajal after waiting for my reply, started to talk again.

“She is Sandya and she is Tinu”, said Kajal pointing to Sandya and Tinu for which Sandya and Tinu gave away a wary smile. From the wasy Kajal introduced the other girls, I understood that Kajal was the gang leader.

“What games you play?”. enquired Kajal in English and for which I merely nodded.

“We play a lot of games. Do you know  how to play ‘Home’?”, asked Kajal pointing to her costly “Playskool” board game.

“Me, Sandya and Tinu played it all day long when we were in Ooty for vacation with our families. Isn’t Sandya?”, said Kajal in English.

English was getting too much for me. I only understood the words Ooty and vacation and secretly hoped Sandya would not answer Kajal. But that was not my day and Sandya became all excited when Kajal mentioned Ooty and nodded her earnestly.

“Have you been to Ooty?”, asked Sandya in English. I wondered how that would go. I finally decided to break the ice.

“I have never been Ooty”, I said in Tamil after guessing her question. I could sense their disappointment when I spoke in Tamil.

“Why are you talking in T-a-a-mil?”, frowned Kajal. They looked at as if I was a witch who had spelled an unforgiving curse.

“Leave her alone, Kajal”, Renuka came to my rescue seeing my eyes getting misty.

Kajal ignored Renuka and continued to taunt me. “Which school are you from”, enquired kajal.

“Sitapore Matriculation school”, I mumbled

” Sitaporeeee?”, said Kajal and broke out a distinct laughter which was duly joined by Tinu and Sandya.

I didn’t understand what was wrong with the name  “Sitapore” and looked quizzically at Renuka.

“They are from Chettinad Vidhyashram”, said Renuka

I understood the actual meaning of Renuka’s words only a few days later when I came to know about Chettinad Vidhyashram. It was a school for the privileged. All students from Chettinad Vidhyashram spoke only in English, whereas, my English teacher in Sitapore spoke only in Tamil.

Renuka seeing this gave me a sorry sight and I could take it no longer. I ran home crying and locked myself in the room and cried for a whole hour. The thought of school made the whole situation more gloomy. Though I was waiting to return back to school, the ghosts of my past haunted me.

The thought of not having a summer vacation for the next one year, tests, exams, ranks, maths, teachers with wooden scale made me feel blue. But there was no escape. I had to go school the next morning.

To Be Cont…

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sudarvizhi said, on May 28, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Sitapore eh?? enga da irukku.. Enna singapore ulta va??? 😉
    Apparam kajal, sandhya, tinu lam un girl frnds name eh???
    Tel me da truth.. 🙂

  2. Amma said, on May 29, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    Excellant kanna ! Keep it up !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Vani said, on June 7, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    This chapter reminds me of Swami and friends …Ah ! the innocence of childhood came out nicely …

  4. hiranprashanth said, on June 9, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    @ Sudar
    girl friends na enna????

    @AMMA
    Thaiye….ungal commentuku nan thalai vanangugiren….

    @Vani
    thnak u so much…mika nanri

  5. Sathish said, on June 28, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    hmmmm continue continue…………….
    lets see where this is heading [;)]

  6. sumiee said, on April 18, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    aama yaru anda renuka , kajal, sandhya and tinu.. ellam anna periayum mathitiya… kalakura po.. nice post…


Leave a Reply

