Hiranprashanth’s Blog

Sky Is So High[Chapter 6]

Posted in Sky Is So High by hiranprashanth on June 26, 2009

First day in my new school. A summer vacation of  two months can change any normal person INSIDE OUT. Getting up at seven in the morning was next to impossible for me. I was still in my bed and had no intention whatsoever to wake up at seven and that’s when I heard my mother’s voice from the kitchen

“Wake up Ramya. You have school today. Your holidays are over. You are not a baby anymore. When I was in your age, I…”, started my mother.

I didn’t want to know what my mother did at 7 A.M twenty four years ago. I would rather sacrifice my Sweet sleep than to hear my mother’s story.

“I will drop you in school when I go to office”, said my mother as she entered the room.

“You are still sleeping???”, screamed my mother and dragged me to the bathroom. Five minutes was all the time needed for my mother to brush, bathe and dress me up. I was all dressed up for the big occasion.

I didn’t know what to expect from my new school. But as far as my old school was concerned, they really gave me what I expected, whippings, whippings and more whippings. There were no desks for writings and we had to sit on floor. It was a back breaking task to write without desks and we had only one teacher for all the classes. Only one teacher is all it takes to take the hell out of you. I was her most favourite punch bag.

“Shall we go Ramya?”, asked my mother.

“Amma, can we go to school tomorrow? I have stomach ache”, I said without batting my eyes

“Stop your acting and come with me now. I don’t want to hit you on your first day”, warned my mother.

I had no other choice. My school was only a stone’s throw from my home. Mine was not a very big school. It had only one building with two floors. The play ground was almost a zilch. I had nothing to boast of my new school expect for its name, BOSTON MATRICULATION Higher Secondary School.

I was wearing a blue checked shirt with a blue pinafore. My hair was plaited into two and thanks to my hair thickness, the plaits looked like a pig tail. I still can smell the fresh paint. My mother held my hands and led me to the smallest class in the school, II STD.

A tall lady was standing in front of my class and was greeting all the students with a huge smile. My mother stopped half way seeing the tall lady. She dropped all her smiles and sported a grim face on seeing me and started walking towards me.

Her walk was majestic, to say the least. She walked as if she was floating in air. One thing that puzzled me was her dress. She was weraing a frock!!! I have never seen a lady of her age to wear a frock.

“Hello. I am Rita Taylors. I am the class teacher for II standard.”, my class teacher introduced herself to my mother.

“Oh. Hello Madam. I actually wanted to talk to you about my….”, said my mother before being cut short by my class teacher.

“Oh you can call me Mrs. Taylors. No MADAM please. And we can talk about this young lady after she meets her friends”, said Mrs. Taylors in a deep British accent looking directly at me.

My eyes welled up seeing her looks. Mrs. Taylors was an Anglo-Indian. Her most prominent feature was her Roman nose. I cannot help noticing the abnormally large nose she had. The wrinkles on her face revealed her age. I thought she would belong to the same age group as of my grand mother’s. She had a very short hair which never touched her shoulders but her hair was unusually black. Her dark pink frock with bright sun flowers all over it made her look comical.

“Oh… Don’t cry my child. You will love this place. Come lets meet your friends”, said Mrs. Taylors as she hugged me.

No teacher has ever touched me, except for a slap. Her unexpected hug relieved all my fears. She lifted me and took me to the class.

“You sit with Anitha and I will be back in a minute. Big girl like should not cry”, said Mrs. Taylors and left the class to meet my mother.

Suddenly I felt good about this school and about myself. All my tears vanished and was looking forward for the classes and all of a sudden Mrs. Taylors floated into our class.

“Good Morning children”, said Mrs. Taylors

“Good Morning Miss”, came the reply

“Shall we all start this great year a little different?”, asked Mrs. Taylors

“Yes Miss”, came the chores

“Lets have a Dictation test”, announced Mrs. Taylors happily.

As she broke the news, there was smiles all around the class. This was not I expected. A Dictation test on the first day??? I never understood why the others were so excited about a Dictation test. Are they the Great Great grand children of Shakespeares and Keates???

Before the feeling could sink in, Mrs. Taylors said, “Take down a sheet of paper and write down your….”, she continued as my smiles faded and my eyes welled up again…

To Be Cont…

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sathish said, on June 28, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    enna da unnoda autobiography in the name of ramya eh [:)]

    • hiranprashanth said, on June 29, 2009 at 9:20 am

      @ Sathish

      Stationla adivangarathu autobiographya?????
      Kadavulae Ganapathy…..

  2. Sudarvizhi said, on June 29, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    A very excellent post u ever had..
    Enna naan ezhudhina chapterku vera eppadi comment panna???
    So royalty venum.. 😉

    Note: Un dappa kaali endru ellorukkum therium. so everyone ‘ll believe the truth.. 😉

  3. Amma said, on June 29, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    schoolukku poga than azhugey nna office pogauma! The Q & A session is very nice.

  4. Arpit said, on July 2, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    AweSome Yar,
    Emotionally Driven & Nicely Written.. Post… 🙂

    That Line On Boastin Bout Your School is Hilarious. Man! :D….
    I cant stop laughing till the end of the post. Fantastic.

    Just Too Good.

    Keep Blogging.

  5. Geetha said, on July 5, 2009 at 11:16 am

    “Rita Taylors ” character ku ivlo build-up eh…
    Hmm Cycle gap la un School eh publicity panra pathiya[:)]

  6. Presedha said, on December 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    Hey hiran n yea i remb u very well

    gud writing pal
    keep it up
    and i just updated ma blog do see

  7. Sindhu Sankar said, on May 17, 2010 at 1:30 am

    Hey Prashanth…enna ore Boston memories eh? Nostalgia attacks!

  8. sumiee said, on April 18, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    namma class anitha lam gnabagam iruka unaku???


Leave a Reply

